Pasar al contenido principal
Displaying 1 of 1
Heads in beds : a reckless memoir of hotels, hustles, and so-called hospitality
2012
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
Disponibilidad
Buscar en el mapa
Ficción/Perfil biográfico
Genre
NonFiction
Adventure
Topics
Hotel industry
Hotel management
Hotels
Secrets
Travelers
Personal narratives
Setting
- United States
Time Period
-- 20th-21st century
Imagen de portada ampliada
Reseñas de publicaciones especializadas

  Análisis semanal de editoriales

Those who want a hotel up-grade, who must make a same-day room cancellation without getting charged, or wonder why hotel water sometimes tastes like lemon Pledge need look no further than Tomsky's memoir, a collection of stories, memories, and secrets about the hospitality business. Bouncing around various hotel jobs-bellman, housekeeping manager, front desk attendant-for more than a 10 years, he's got the skinny that would make most travel sites blush. Follow his advice and you'll be drinking from the mini-bar and watching in-room movies for free. But this is more than a collection of trade secrets; it's a colorful tale filled with vibrant characters from crazy bellman to even crazier guests. Tomsky is a solid storyteller who is able to intricately detail all the insanity surrounding him. Agent: Farley Chase. (Nov.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Resumen
<p> In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant , a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry. <br> <br> Jacob Tomsky never intended to go into the hotel business. As a new college graduate, armed only with a philosophy degree and a singular lack of career direction, he became a valet parker for a large luxury hotel in New Orleans. Yet, rising fast through the ranks, he ended up working in "hospitality" for more than a decade, doing everything from supervising the housekeeping department to manning the front desk at an upscale Manhattan hotel. He's checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room-service meals, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late checkout, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your minibar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. In Heads in Beds he pulls back the curtain to expose the crazy and compelling reality of a multi-billion-dollar industry we think we know.<br></p> <p> Heads in Beds is a funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life, told by a keenly observant insider who's seen it all. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on in the valet parking garage, the housekeeping department's dirty little secrets--not to mention the shameless activities of the guests, who are rarely on their best behavior. Prepare to be moved, too, by his candor about what it's like to toil in a highly demanding service industry at the luxury level, where people expect to get what they pay for (and often a whole lot more). Employees are poorly paid and frequently abused by coworkers and guests alike, and maintaining a semblance of sanity is a daily challenge.</p> <p>Along his journey Tomsky also reveals the secrets of the industry, offering easy ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle. This book (and a timely proffered twenty-dollar bill) will help you score late checkouts and upgrades, get free stuff galore, and make that pay-per-view charge magically disappear. Thanks to him you'll know how to get the very best service from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, you will keep the bellmen from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and bashing it against the wall repeatedly.</p>
Pantalla de bibliotecario
Displaying 1 of 1