Format:
Audio Book on CD, Audio Books, Nonmusical Sound Recording, Sound Recording
Author:
Title:
Edition:
Unabridged.
Publisher, Date:
[New York] : Penguin Audio, [2017]
Description:
8 audio discs (10 hr.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in.
digital optical
audio file CD audio
Summary:
Praised by Lee Child and Karin Slaughter, and sure to thrill fans of The Girl on the Train and The Widow, The Marsh King's Daughter is mesmerizing psychological suspense, the story of a woman who must risk everything to hunt down the dangerous man who shaped her past and threatens to steal her future: her father. At last, Helena Pelletier has the life she deserves. A loving husband, two beautiful daughters, a business that fills her days. Then she catches an emergency news announcement and realizes she was a fool to think she could ever leave her worst days behind her. Helena has a secret: she is the product of an abduction. Her mother was kidnapped as a teenager by her father and kept in a remote cabin in the marshlands of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. No electricity, no heat, no running water, not a single human beyond the three of them. Helena, born two years after the abduction, loved her home in nature--fishing, tracking, hunting. And despite her father's odd temperament and sometimes brutal behavior, she loved him, too . . . until she learned precisely how savage a person he could be. More than twenty years later, she has buried her past so soundly that even her husband doesn't know the truth. But now her father has killed two guards, escaped from prison, and disappeared into the marshland he knows better than anyone else in the world. The police commence a manhunt, but Helena knows they don't stand a chance. Knows that only one person has the skills to find the survivalist the world calls the Marsh King--because only one person was ever trained by him: his daughter.
Notes:
Title from container.
Compact discs.
Read by Emily Rankin.
Subjects:
Genre:
Other Author:
ISBN:
9781524775513
1524775517
9781524775537
1524775533
9781524775513
System Availability:
1
Current Holds:
1
Control Number:
1229027
Other Number:
969975230
# System items in:
0
Find It
Map It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Helena Pelletier (Female), Entrepreneur, Married, Born from an abduction; tries to overcome her past; tries to stop her murdering father
Genre
Fiction
Suspense
Mystery
Psychological
Topics
Crime
Kidnapping
Search for truth
Women
Past lives
Abduction
Murder investigations
Survivalists
Time Period
2000s -- 21st century
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Library Journal Review

Kidnapped at age 14, Helena's mother got pregnant and gave birth in a cabin in the marshlands of Michigan's Upper Peninsula, where she and her daughter were held prisoner for more than a decade. Over the years, Helena's violent and reclusive father taught her how to survive in the wilderness. Now that she's an adult and her father is in prison, Helena has built a new and safe life for herself. But when he escapes from prison, leaving behind him a trail of bodies, Helena knows she is the only person who can successfully track her father through Michigan's wilderness. VERDICT Echoing Hans Christian Andersen's fairy tale of the same title, -Dionne's (The Killing; Uncommon Denominator) latest is a well-crafted, eerie, and unnerving psychological thriller. With a strong setting and swift pacing, this novel is recommended for readers who enjoyed Emma Donoghue's Room and Travis -Mulhauser's Sweetgirl.[ See Prepub Alert, 1/4/17.]-Emily -Hamstra, Seattle © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Publishers Weekly Review

Helena Pelletier, the narrator of Dionne's (Freezing Point) exceptional hardcover debut, a psychological thriller, lives an ordinary life in Michigan's Upper Peninsula-mother to five-year-old Iris and three-year-old Mari, wife to Stephen-but her childhood was not normal. Her mother was kidnapped at age 14 by Jacob Holbrook and taken to a remote cabin, where Helena was born three years later. When Helena was about 12, she and her mother escaped, their rescue making international headlines. No one, not even Stephen, knows her background, until Jacob escapes from prison after 13 years, killing two guards before disappearing into the woods less than 30 miles from the Pelletiers' house. Knowing how he thinks, Helena is the only one who can find Jacob. Detailed flashbacks show Helena had an odd but decent childhood. To the world, Jacob was a monster; to Helena, he was just her father, who taught her to fish, hunt, and track, and told involving stories, and was occasionally brutal. Helena's conflicting emotions about her father and her own identity elevate this powerful story. Author tour. Agent: Jeff Kleinman, Folio Literary Management. (June) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
Praised by Lee Child and Karin Slaughter, and sure to thrill fans of The Girl on the Train and The Widow , The Marsh King's Daughter is mesmerizing psychological suspense, the story of a woman who must risk everything to hunt down the dangerous man who shaped her past and threatens to steal her future: her father. <p>"Brilliant....In its balance of emotional patience and chapter-by-chapter suspense, The Marsh King's Daughter is about as good as a thriller can be." -- The New York Times Book Review <p>"Spine-tingling."-- People <p>" A] nail-biter perfect for Room fans." -- Cosmopolitan <p> At last, Helena Pelletier has the life she deserves. A loving husband, two beautiful daughters, a business that fills her days. Then she catches an emergency news announcement and realizes she was a fool to think she could ever leave her worst days behind her. <p>Helena has a secret: she is the product of an abduction. Her mother was kidnapped as a teenager by her father and kept in a remote cabin in the marshlands of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. No electricity, no heat, no running water, not a single human beyond the three of them. Helena, born two years after the abduction, loved her home in nature--fishing, tracking, hunting. And despite her father's odd temperament and sometimes brutal behavior, she loved him, too...until she learned precisely how savage a person he could be. <p>More than twenty years later, she has buried her past so soundly that even her husband doesn't know the truth. But now her father has killed two guards, escaped from prison, and disappeared into the marshland he knows better than anyone else in the world. The police commence a manhunt, but Helena knows they don't stand a chance. Knows that only one person has the skills to find the survivalist the world calls the Marsh King--because only one person was ever trained by him: his daughter.
Librarian's View
Audio Book on CD
2017

Add to My List