Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The Marsh King's daughter
2017
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
Find It
Map It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Helena Pelletier (Female), Entrepreneur, Married, Born from an abduction; tries to overcome her past; tries to stop her murdering father
Genre
Fiction
Suspense
Mystery
Psychological
Topics
Crime
Kidnapping
Search for truth
Women
Past lives
Abduction
Murder investigations
Survivalists
Time Period
2000s -- 21st century
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Library Journal Review

Kidnapped at age 14, Helena's mother got pregnant and gave birth in a cabin in the marshlands of Michigan's Upper Peninsula, where she and her daughter were held prisoner for more than a decade. Over the years, Helena's violent and reclusive father taught her how to survive in the wilderness. Now that she's an adult and her father is in prison, Helena has built a new and safe life for herself. But when he escapes from prison, leaving behind him a trail of bodies, Helena knows she is the only person who can successfully track her father through Michigan's wilderness. VERDICT Echoing Hans Christian Andersen's fairy tale of the same title, -Dionne's (The Killing; Uncommon Denominator) latest is a well-crafted, eerie, and unnerving psychological thriller. With a strong setting and swift pacing, this novel is recommended for readers who enjoyed Emma Donoghue's Room and Travis -Mulhauser's Sweetgirl.[ See Prepub Alert, 1/4/17.]-Emily -Hamstra, Seattle © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Publishers Weekly Review

Helena Pelletier, the narrator of Dionne's (Freezing Point) exceptional hardcover debut, a psychological thriller, lives an ordinary life in Michigan's Upper Peninsula-mother to five-year-old Iris and three-year-old Mari, wife to Stephen-but her childhood was not normal. Her mother was kidnapped at age 14 by Jacob Holbrook and taken to a remote cabin, where Helena was born three years later. When Helena was about 12, she and her mother escaped, their rescue making international headlines. No one, not even Stephen, knows her background, until Jacob escapes from prison after 13 years, killing two guards before disappearing into the woods less than 30 miles from the Pelletiers' house. Knowing how he thinks, Helena is the only one who can find Jacob. Detailed flashbacks show Helena had an odd but decent childhood. To the world, Jacob was a monster; to Helena, he was just her father, who taught her to fish, hunt, and track, and told involving stories, and was occasionally brutal. Helena's conflicting emotions about her father and her own identity elevate this powerful story. Author tour. Agent: Jeff Kleinman, Folio Literary Management. (June) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER <br> <br> "Brilliant....About as good as a thriller can be."-- The New York Times Book Review <br> <br> "[A] nail-biter perfect for Room fans."-- Cosmopolitan<br> <br> "Sensationally good psychological suspense."--Lee Child <br> <br> Praised by Karin Slaughter and Megan Abbott, The Marsh King's Daughter is the mesmerizing tale of a woman who must risk everything to hunt down the dangerous man who shaped her past and threatens to steal her future: her father. <br> <br> Helena Pelletier has a loving husband, two beautiful daughters, and a business that fills her days. But she also has a secret: she is the product of an abduction. Her mother was kidnapped as a teenager by her father and kept in a remote cabin in the marshlands of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Helena, born two years after the abduction, loved her home in nature, and despite her father's sometimes brutal behavior, she loved him, too...until she learned precisely how savage he could be.<br> <br> More than twenty years later, she has buried her past so soundly that even her husband doesn't know the truth. But now her father has killed two guards, escaped from prison, and disappeared into the marsh. The police begin a manhunt, but Helena knows they don't stand a chance. Knows that only one person has the skills to find the survivalist the world calls the Marsh King--because only one person was ever trained by him: his daughter.
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1