Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The girl before : a novel
2017
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
Find It
Map It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Emma (Female), Looking for a new place to live after a traumatic break-in at her old place; finds a house where the architect has made rules
Jane (Female), Looking for a fresh start after the stillborn death of her baby; falls in love with a house where the architect has made rules; learns of the death of the home's previous tenant, a woman similar to her in age and appearance; finds herself making the same choices, crossing paths with the same people, as the girl before
Genre
Fiction
Thriller
Psychological
Suspense
Topics
Moving
Landlords
Deception
Women in peril
Personal tragedy
Architects
Security systems
Identity
Time Period
2000s -- 21st century
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Library Journal Review

Jane was looking for a fresh start, which included a new place to live. She finds an interesting rental home at One Folgate Street, which is an extraordinary work of modern art and comes with extreme rules for occupancy. The home's mysterious creator and owner is as austere as his house and promises Jane that the space will transform her. Jane had no idea how her life would change, nor did she realize that she wasn't the first woman to occupy the space whose tenancy changed her forever. At some point in the past, Emma had lived there and experienced a similar "transformation" and terror. Delaney's narrative flows well, with the story alternating between Jane and Emma, pointing out the parallel nature of their lives and simultaneously building suspense. Performers Emilia Fox and Finty Williams do excellent work in their tandem storytelling. VERDICT Readers who enjoy the work of Paula Hawkins and Ruth Ware will want this title. ["Will consume psychological thriller enthusiasts and keep them thinking long after the final page": LJ Xpress Reviews 12/16/16 starred review of the Ballantine hc.]-Nicole A. Cooke, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Publishers Weekly Review

Jane Cavendish and Emma Williams, searching London for a cheap safe place to live, are entranced by what appears to be a bargain, a unique minimalist house automatically controlled by cutting-edge technology. Both are equally entranced by the house's architect, Edward Monkford, a darkly handsome control freak who demands that voluminous stipulations be met before he turns over the Fitbit-like wristband that automatically opens the front door. The first of many twists in this psychological thriller from Delaney is that, though both perspectives are written in the present tense, Emma's takes place in the past. Actors Fox (reading Jane's sections) and Williams (reading Emma's sections) move the frequently shifting plot along at a swift clip, clearly distinguishing the differing emotions of the two main characters even as they go through their similar paces. The amazing automated house, almost as prominent as its inhabitants, does everything but speak. But while Fox and Williams are not called upon to give voice to the brick-and-mortar character, they are totally successful in capturing the atmosphere that the cold, indifferent, slightly terrifying building creates. A Ballantine hardcover. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * In the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in Cabin 10, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman's seemingly good fortune, and another woman's mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception. <br> <br> SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY RON HOWARD <br> <br> Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life. <br> <br> The request seems odd, even intrusive--and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating.<br> <br> EMMA <br> Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant--and it does.<br> <br> JANE <br> After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space--and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home's previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before.<br> <br> Praise for The Girl Before <br> <br> "Dazzling, startling, and above all cunning--a pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense." --Lee Child <br> <br> " The Girl Before generates a fast pace. . . . [J. P.] Delaney intersperses ethics questions on stand-alone pages throughout the book. . . . The single most ingenious touch is that we're not provided either woman's answers." --The New York Times <br> <br> "J. P. Delaney builds the suspense." -- Vanity Fair <br> <br> "Immediate guarantee: You will not be able to put this book down. . . . Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will realize that there's not only more where that came from, but it's also more thrilling." -- American Booksellers Association <br> <br> "This is going to be the buzziest book of 2017. We may only be a few weeks into 2017, but we're calling it early: This year, The Girl Before will be that book. The upcoming novel by author J. P. Delaney has all of the makings of a sexy murder mystery that is sure to hit the bestseller chart, and it already has the movie deal to prove it." -- InStyle <br> <br> "Delaney has created a genuinely eerie, fascinating setting in One Folgate Street. . . . The novel's structure, volleying back and forth as first Emma and then Jane begin to question their improbable luck, is beautifully handled. The pages fly." -- USA Today <br> <br> "The house has a dark past and a landlord that's anything but welcoming." -- New York Post , one of the must-read books of the week <br> <br> " The Girl Before is deservedly anointed the 'top girl' of this season's suspense novels." -- The Washington Post <br> <br> " The Girl Before is a cat-and-mouse game that toys with our expectations and twists our sympathies. At times almost unbearably suspenseful, it keeps us guessing from the first page to the very last. Don't miss it." --Joseph Finder
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1