Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
All the Bright Places
Click for more information  Ebook
2015
Find It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Theodore Finch (Male), Student, Fascinated by death; constantly thinking of ways to kill himself; met Violet on the ledge of the bell tower of the school; paired up with her on a school prject
Violet Markey (Female), Student, Counting the days towards her graduation; longs to escape town after the recent death of her sister in a car accident that she survived; met Theodore on the ledge of the bell tower of the school, paired up with him on a school project
Genre
Young adult fiction
Romance
Love story
Psychological
Topics
High school students
Death and dying
Death of a sibling
Loss
Friendship
Grief
Falling in love
Road trips
Mental illness
Suicidal thoughts
Setting
Indiana - Midwest (U.S.)
Time Period
2000s -- 21st century
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Publishers Weekly Review

Voice actors Heyborne and Meyers team up for the audio edition of Niven's teen love story. Last spring, Violet survived the car accident that killed her sister. She has been barely getting by, and now, on the first day of the new term, she has climbed the bell tower at school and is thinking of throwing herself off. It is here that Violet encounters Theodore Finch, better known as "Freak" around school, who manages to talk her down. Saving Violet seems to have given Finch a new lease on life. He woos her, gets assigned to be her partner for a class project, and slowly brings Violet back to life. Both Violet and Finch take turns telling their story. Heyborne makes Finch sound warm, relatable, and sympathetic. When Finch turns manic, Heyborne picks up the pace, and his voice becomes frantic, harried, and ragged. For Violet, Meyers's voice is sharp and tight, almost pinched at times. She only sounds loose and comfortable when she's with Finch. When bad things happen and Violet's voice is cracking and near tears, listeners will become misty-eyed as well. Still, the story is not without humor, and the narrators nail the comedic notes, lightening the mood. This is an emotional book, and Meyers and Heyborne do an outstanding job infusing their performances with sentiment and warmth. Ages 14-up. A Knopf hardcover. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
"A do not miss for fans of  Eleanor and Park  and  The Fault in Our Stars,  and basically anyone who can breathe." --Justine Magazine <br> <br> A  New York Times  bestseller<br> <br> Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!<br> <br> A 2016 Zoella Book Club Pick! <br>   <br> Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.<br>  <br> Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death.<br>  <br> When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it's unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the "natural wonders" of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It's only with Violet that Finch can be himself--a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who's not such a freak after all. And it's only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink.<br>  <br> This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.<br> <br> "At the heart--a big one--of "All the Bright Places" lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers." <br>  -- New York Times Book Review <br> <br> "...this heartbreaking love story about two funny, fragile, and wildly damaged high school kids named Violet and Finch is worth reading. Niven is a skillful storyteller who never patronizes her characters--or her audience."<br> -- Entertainment Weekly  <br> <br> <br> From the Hardcover edition.
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1