Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Edition:
First edition.
Publisher, Date:
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, [2015]
Description:
388 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
"Told in alternating voices, when Theodore Finch and Violet Markey meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school--both teetering on the edge--it's the beginning of an unlikely relationship, a journey to discover the "natural wonders" of the state of Indiana, and two teens' desperate desire to heal and save one another" Provided by publisher.
Notes:
Includes bibliographical references (page 383).
Subjects:
LCCN:
2014002238
ISBN:
9780385755887
0385755880
9780385755894
0385755899
System Availability:
7
Current Holds:
0
Control Number:
1101907
Other Number:
870336323
# System items in:
4
Find It
Map It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Theodore Finch (Male), Student, Fascinated by death; constantly thinking of ways to kill himself; met Violet on the ledge of the bell tower of the school; paired up with her on a school prject
Violet Markey (Female), Student, Counting the days towards her graduation; longs to escape town after the recent death of her sister in a car accident that she survived; met Theodore on the ledge of the bell tower of the school, paired up with him on a school project
Genre
Young adult fiction
Romance
Love story
Psychological
Topics
High school students
Death and dying
Death of a sibling
Loss
Friendship
Grief
Falling in love
Road trips
Mental illness
Suicidal thoughts
Setting
Indiana - Midwest (U.S.)
Time Period
2000s -- 21st century
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Publishers Weekly Review

Seniors Theodore Finch and Violet Markey run into each other on their school bell tower, contemplating what it would be like to jump. It's more dark-cute than meet-cute, which also describes the book. Finch thinks about suicide every day; Violet was happy until her sister died in a car crash. While Finch, aka "Theodore Freak," is a marginal presence in their high school, he's smart and handsome-a musician who, readers gradually realize, suffers from undiagnosed manic depression. Violet is equally smart, and as they traverse Indiana for a geography project, looking for "wonders," they flirt, argue, admit dark secrets, and fall in love. In her YA debut, adult author Niven (Velva Jean Learns to Drive) creates a romance so fresh and funny that it seems like it could save Finch; she also makes something she foreshadows from the first line surprising. The journey to, through, and past tragedy is romantic and heartbreaking, as characters and readers confront darkness, joy, and the possibilities-and limits-of love in the face of mental illness. Ages 14-up. Agent: Kerry Sparks, Levine Greenberg Rostan Literary Agency. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.<br> <br> Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning! <br>   <br> Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.<br>  <br> Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death.<br>  <br> When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it's unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the "natural wonders" of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It's only with Violet that Finch can be himself--a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who's not such a freak after all. And it's only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink.<br>  <br> This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.
Librarian's View
Book
2015

Add to My List