Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Wolf : a Jack Caffery thriller
2014
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
Find It
Map It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Jack Caffery (Male), Detective inspector, Trying to track down the owner of a cry for help attached to a wandering dog; searching for information regarding the childhood disappearance of his brother;
Genre
Fiction
Mystery
Thriller
Psychological
Topics
Hostages
Childhood memories
Missing persons
Wealthy lifestyles
Captives
Pedophiles
Torture
Family tragedy
Emotional trauma
Setting
England - Europe
Time Period
2000s -- 21st century
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Library Journal Review

In Hayder's best Jack Caffery thriller yet, a worn-out Jack is feeling all the years he has put into police service and his never-ending quest to find out what happened to his long-lost brother. The novel opens with a young girl finding a stray dog with a ripped note tucked into its collar that states, "Help us." A vagrant known as the Walking Man witnesses this and promises the young girl that he will help the dog. Never one to give out information willingly, the Walking Man surprisingly contacts Jack-offering up a trade: find out who needs help and, in return, the Walking Man will give Jack some closure about his brother. This deal with the devil sets off a home invasion novel unlike no other. The Anchor-Ferrers, a wealthy family with secrets and issues of their own, are being held hostage in their estate. Will Jack find them in time? And why was this family chosen in the first place? VERDICT Dark and twisty, this gripping crime novel by an Edgar Award winner is an outstanding read, whether Jack is a new character to the reader or an old friend. For fans of John Connolly or Robert Crais. [Library marketing.]-Marianne Fitzgerald, Severna Park H.S., MD (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Publishers Weekly Review

In Hayder's unsatisfying fifth crime thriller featuring Somerset-based Det. Insp. Jack Caffrey (after 2013's Poppet), Jack takes leave from his official duties and throws himself once again into investigating the disappearance of his older brother, Ewan, who vanished at age nine and was thought to be murdered by a local pedophile. Jack turns for help to the Walking Man, a mysteriously wise vagrant, who agrees to provide information about Ewan if Jack will try to find the owner of a lost dog named Bear. Bear escaped from her home after it was invaded by two men posing as police officers and who are keeping her owners-scientist Oliver Anchor-Ferrers; his wife, Matilda; and their 29-year-old daughter, Lucia-hostage. The reasoning behind the in-home kidnapping emerges frustratingly slowly. As Jack and the Anchor-Ferrers look for answers, each in their own way, readers will wish in vain for a cameo from Jack's intrepid, rule-breaking sometimes partner, Flea Marley. Agent: Jane Gregory, Gregory & Co. (U.K.). (May) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
<br> Edgar Award winner and internationally best-selling author Mo Hayder has made her name with nightmarishly dark, impeccably-plotted thrillers that hook readers from the first page and won't let them go. With her latest novel, Wolf , the frighteningly talented Hayder ratchets up the terror yet another notch, with a bone-chilling novel about a family held hostage in their country home.<br> <br> Wolf kicks off when a vagrant--the Walking Man, an enigmatic, recurring character in Hayder's fiction--finds a dog wandering alone with a scrap of paper with the words "HELP US" attached to its collar. He's sure it's a desperate plea from someone in trouble and calls on Detective Inspector Jack Caffery to investigate. Caffery is reluctant to get involved--until the Walking Man promises in exchange new information regarding the childhood disappearance of Caffery's brother. Caffery has no idea who or what he is searching for, but one thing he is sure of: it's a race against time.<br> <br> Meanwhile, the Anchor-Ferrers, a wealthy local family, are fighting for their lives, held hostage in their remote home ten miles away. As their ordeal becomes increasingly bizarre and humiliating, the family begins to wonder: is this really a random crime?<br>
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1