Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Watching you : a novel
2018
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
Find It
Map It
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Library Journal Review

A bloody murder has been committed in Melville Heights, an upscale neighborhood in the picturesque English town of Bristol, though the identity of the murdered individual is not revealed until the end of this tense novel populated by strange and disturbing characters. Local headmaster Tom Fitzwilliam is beloved, including by his recently married new neighbor Joey Mullen, who quickly becomes besotted with the charming, unavailable man. Joey doesn't think anyone knows about her crush, but Tom's teenaged son Freddie has aspirations of becoming a spy for MI5, and he's taken note of how strangely Joey behaves around his father. Tom's student Jenna Tripp lives on the same street and doesn't think Mr. Fitzwilliam is as squeaky clean as he appears, particularly as he seems to have taken a fancy to one of her classmates. Jenna's mother is convinced that Mr. Fitzwilliam is stalking her, though it's no secret that her mental health has been deteriorating in recent years. Gabrielle Glaister does an excellent job reading this exciting book. She keeps listeners engaged as the plot twists and misleads. VERDICT Recommended for the thriller/suspense collection of public libraries. ["Jewell weaves a taut multiperspective, domestic/community suspense story that is sure to please fans of Ruth Ware and A.J. Finn": LJ 11/15/18 starred review of the Atria hc.]-Ilka Gordon, Beachwood, OH © Copyright 2019. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Publishers Weekly Review

In the prologue of this crafty conundrum from bestseller Jewell (Then She Was Gone), a dead body lies on the kitchen floor of the Fitzwilliam family's Victorian house in a posh neighborhood of Bristol, England. The author smoothly juggles multiple story lines-some dating back 20 years-centering on paterfamilias Tom Fitzwilliam. For some reason, the now middle-aged, nationally honored schoolmaster seems to effortlessly bewitch women and girls alike, among them his slavishly solicitous wife, Nicola; increasingly paranoid stalker Frances Tripp, the mother of one of his students, 15-year-old Jenna; and Jenna's best friend, Bess Ridley, who has a schoolgirl crush on him. While all the people watching Tom facilitate the serpentine plot, they're also the novel's weakest link, since their respective obsessions remains baffling and at times border on the tedious. That said, prepare to be blindsided by the murder victim's identity, not revealed until late in the game-and an even more stunning final surprise. Jewell does a masterly job of maintaining suspense. Agent: Deborah Schneider, Gelfman Schneider Literary. (Dec.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
"Quickly and assuredly, Jewell builds an ecosystem of countervailing suspicions...Tricky, clever, unexpected." -- New York Times Book Review <br> <br> "Brace yourself as Jewell stacks up the secrets, then lights a long, slow fuse." -- People <br> <br> "A seize-you-by-the-throat thriller and a genuinely moving family drama." --A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window <br> <br> The instant New York Times and #1 Sunday Times bestselling author of the Then She Was Gone delivers another suspenseful page-turner about a shocking murder in a picturesque and well-to-do English town, perfect "for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, and Luckiest Girl Alive" ( Library Journal). <br> <br> Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England; home to doctors and lawyers and old-money academics. It's not the sort of place where people are brutally murdered in their own kitchens. But it is the sort of place where everyone has a secret. And everyone is watching you.<br> <br> As the headmaster credited with turning around the local school, Tom Fitzwilliam is beloved by one and all--including Joey Mullen, his new neighbor, who quickly develops an intense infatuation with this thoroughly charming yet unavailable man. Joey thinks her crush is a secret, but Tom's teenaged son Freddie--a prodigy with aspirations of becoming a spy for MI5--excels in observing people and has witnessed Joey behaving strangely around his father.<br> <br> One of Tom's students, Jenna Tripp, also lives on the same street, and she's not convinced her teacher is as squeaky clean as he seems. For one thing, he has taken a particular liking to her best friend and fellow classmate, and Jenna's mother--whose mental health has admittedly been deteriorating in recent years--is convinced that Mr. Fitzwilliam is stalking her.<br> <br> Meanwhile, twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam...<br> <br> In Lisa Jewell's latest brilliant "bone-chilling suspense" ( People ) no one is who they seem--and everyone is hiding something. Who has been murdered--and who would have wanted one of their neighbors dead? As "Jewell teases out her twisty plot at just the right pace" ( Booklist , starred review), you will be kept guessing until the startling revelation on the very last page.
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1