Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Something in the water : a novel
Click for more information  Ebook
2018
Find It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Erin (Female), Newlywed, Mark's wife; embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora; finds something in the water
Mark (Male), Newlywed, Erin's husband; embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora; finds something in the water
Genre
Fiction
Mystery
Suspense
Thriller
Topics
Newlyweds
Honeymoons
Secrets
Life choices
Setting
Polynesia - Oceania (Pacific islands)
Time Period
2000s -- 21st century
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Library Journal Review

Debut author Steadman narrates this story of young love in a skilled and compelling voice. Erin and her husband, Mark, set out for their dream honeymoon in Bora Bora fully expecting to live a long and happy life together. However, what they find in a bag floating in the water following a scuba adventure changes everything. Finding no ID on the bag, Mark and Erin make the foolish choice to keep the treasure of diamonds within it. Perhaps Erin's vocation as a documentary filmmaker predisposes her to digging into things that should be left alone. Her current project is documenting the lives of prisoners as they are approaching parole. Erin asks one of the prisoners in her documentary to help her liquidate the gems. Despite her promises to Mark that she will not touch the phone and flash drive that were bundled with the cash and stones, Erin opens both. She becomes deeply immersed in shady activity but is so likable that listeners will hope she escapes detection. The twist at the end is a surprising relief. Verdict The balance of terror and hope in this first novel is breathtaking. Listeners will anxiously await another novel from Steadman, and will hope the author will choose to narrate future works as well. ["Erin's and Mark's motivations are sketchy and a number of threads are left untied at the end, leaving the reader hanging. Still, this has been getting some prepub buzz so die-hard thriller fans might be interested": LJ Xpress Reviews 6/15/18 review of the Ballantine hc.]-Ann Weber, Los Gatos, CA © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Publishers Weekly Review

One minute London newlyweds Erin Locke and Mark Roberts are enjoying a honeymoon to die for-Bora Bora, five-star lagoon bungalow-and the next they're being sucked into a maelstrom that might actually get them killed, in this captivating if credulity-stretching debut from Downton Abbey alum Steadman (she played Mabel Lane Fox). What changes everything is the couple's discovery while scuba diving of a locked canvas duffel bag. Its contents would free both recently fired investment banker Mark and narrator Erin, who just started filming her first solo documentary (about three prisoners and their transitions postincarceration), from any financial worries-but almost certainly guarantee worries of a more lethal nature. Once the pair start down this perilously slippery slope, the threats and increasingly bad decisions accelerate with Bourne-like velocity, as do their lies to each other. Although not all of the plot gambles prove equally successful, daring choices, such as opening with a scene of the desperate Erin digging a grave, mark Steadman as a newcomer worth watching. Agent: Camilla Wray, Darley Anderson (U.K.). (June) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut--for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.<br> <br> "A psychological thriller that captivated me from page one. What unfolds makes for a wild, page-turning ride! It's the perfect beach read!"--Reese Witherspoon (Reese's Book Club x Hello Sunshine book pick) <br> <br> If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you? <br> <br> Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .<br> <br> Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares? <br> <br> Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .<br> <br> Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave? <br> <br> Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman's enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we're tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves.<br> <br> Praise for Something in the Water <br> <br> "With unreliable characters, wry voices, exquisite pacing, and a twisting plot, [Catherine] Steadman potently draws upon her acting chops. . . . A darkly glittering gem of a thriller from a new writer to watch." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) <br> <br> "Captivating . . . daring . . . The threats and increasingly bad decisions accelerate with Bourne-like velocity. . . . Steadman [is] a newcomer worth watching." -- Publishers Weekly <br> <br> "An unbearably tense debut with a knockout premise, Something in the Water had me hooked from the very first sentence. Thrilling and thought-provoking, it's the perfect beach read. I devoured it!" --Riley Sager, bestselling author of Final Girls
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1