Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Girl in the blue coat
2017
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
Find It
Map It
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Library Journal Review

Hesse's debut is set in 1943 Amsterdam. Hanneke, a Christian teenager whose boyfriend was killed fighting the -Nazis, delivers black market goods to paying customers. When Mrs. Janssen, one of Hanneke's customers, asks her to find a Jewish girl who has disappeared from the secret room in Mrs. Janssen's house, Hanneke agrees and reluctantly joins the Dutch resistance. Narrator Natalya Payne does an excellent job bringing the diverse personalities to life. Her Dutch and German accents are easily recognizable, and her voice work makes each character immediately identifiable. Although the characters are teens and the novel is marketed as a YA selection, adults will find the story gripping. VERDICT Recommended for adult and teen collections. ["The themes of love, betrayal, heroism, social responsibility, and atonement are beautifully intertwined with well-developed characters and a compelling story line": LJ 2/1/16 review of the Little, Brown hc.]-Ilka Gordon, Beachwood City Schs., OH © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Publishers Weekly Review

In 1943 in Nazi-occupied Amsterdam, Hanneke tries to survive by selling black market items. One of her customers secretly asks for her help in finding a Jewish girl she had been hiding who had mysteriously disappeared. In searching for clues, she gets involved with the Resistance movement, risking her life to find the missing girl and defy the Nazis. Narrator Payne has a clear, youthful voice well-suited to Hanneke, conveying both her inner strength and her tension and fear in dangerous situations, as well as her mourning for her boyfriend who died in the war. She does equally well voicing other characters, including an authentic German accent for the soldiers who repeatedly stop and question Hanneke. The suspenseful and moving story will keep listeners riveted. Ages 12-up. A Little, Brown hardcover. (Apr.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
The bestselling, "gripping" ( Entertainment Weekly ), "powerful" ( Hypable ), "utterly thrilling" ( Paste.com ) winner of the Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery, perfect for readers of Kristin Hannah and Ruta Sepetys <br> <br> Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days procuring and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the Germans invaded. She likes to think of her illegal work as a small act of rebellion. <br> On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman's frantic plea to find a person --a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace from a secret room. Hanneke initially wants nothing to do with such dangerous work, but is ultimately drawn into a web of mysteries and stunning revelations that lead her into the heart of the resistance, open her eyes to the horrors of the Nazi war machine, and compel her to take desperate action. <br> Beautifully written, intricately plotted, and meticulously researched, Girl in the Blue Coat is an extraordinary novel about bravery, grief, and love in impossible times.<br> <br> *Don't miss Monica Hesse's newest masterwork of historical fiction: The War Outside *<br>
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1