Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Not a sound : a novel
2017
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
Find It
Map It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Amelia Winn (Female), Nurse, Deaf, Divorced, Deaf from an accident; goes into depression; loses everything; gets back to her feet with the help of a hearing dog; investigates a murder of a fellow nurse
Genre
Fiction
Literary
Suspense
Mystery
Topics
Life changes
Deafness
Accidents
Mental depression
Nurses
Time Period
2000s -- 21st century
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Library Journal Review

Finding a dead body while paddle boarding with her recalcitrant service dog Stitch was not what Amelia Winn expected on a crisp fall morning. When she realizes that the deceased woman was Gwen Locke, a former nursing colleague and friend, Amelia is thrust into a hunt for Gwen's killer. She's still recovering from the aftermath of a hit-and-run accident that left her deaf, depressed, and out of a profession she loved. Amelia begins to reengage with her friends and family to uncover Gwen's last movements before her death. But she risks losing everything in her fragile new existence-from her recovery from alcoholism to the tenuous bonds with her husband and young stepdaughter-to expose the truth. VERDICT Gudenkauf (The Weight of Silence) cleverly incorporates the daily challenges of hearing-impaired individuals and delivers a fast-paced, solid suspense novel that will appeal to fans of Joy Fielding and Jenny Milchman. [See Prepub Alert 11/21/16; library outreach.]-Joy Gunn, Paseo Verde Lib., Henderson, NV © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Publishers Weekly Review

Former ER nurse Amelia Winn, the gutsy narrator of this moving thriller from Edgar-finalist Gudenkauf (Missing Pieces), is struggling to rebuild her life in rural Iowa, digitizing patient files in her new clerical job at the area's largest cancer clinic, two years after an unsolved hit-and-run destroyed her hearing. Then, while paddle boarding along the deserted Five Mines River not far from her isolated cabin, Amelia and her service dog, Stitch, discover the strangled corpse of a woman: nurse Gwen Locke, a colleague of Amelia's who was once a good friend. When Amelia's dramatic 911 call airs, she becomes a potential sitting duck for a killer concerned about just how much she may have seen. Although friend since childhood Det. Jake Schroeder urges her to leave the investigating to pros, she can't resist any more than she can stop delving into anomalies in patient files. As increasingly frightening events menace the heart-tuggingly vulnerable Amelia and her fiercely loyal four-legged protector, Gudenkauf maximizes tension all the way through the literally cliff-hanging finale. Agent: Marianne Merola, Brandt & Hochman Literary Agents. (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
A shocking discovery and chilling secrets converge in this latest novel from New York Times bestselling author Heather Gudenkauf <br> <br> When a tragic accident leaves nurse Amelia Winn deaf, she spirals into a depression that ultimately causes her to lose everything that matters--her job, her husband, David, and her stepdaughter, Nora. Now, two years later and with the help of her hearing dog, Stitch, she is finally getting back on her feet. But when she discovers the body of a fellow nurse in the dense bush by the river, deep in the woods near her cabin, she is plunged into a disturbing mystery that could shatter the carefully reconstructed pieces of her life all over again. <br> <br> As clues begin to surface, Amelia finds herself swept into an investigation that hits all too close to home. But how much is she willing to risk in order to uncover the truth and bring a killer to justice? <br> <br> New York Times bestselling author Heather Gudenkauf has been described as "masterful" and "intelligent" and compared to Lisa Scottoline and Jodi Picoult. Introducing her most compelling heroine yet, she delivers a taut and emotional thriller that proves she's at the top of her class.
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1