Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The Jane Austen Project
2017
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
Find It
Map It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Rachel Katzman (Female), Time traveler, Actor, Independent, Disaster-relief doctor; poses as spinster sister of Liam, a doctor and wealthy West Indies planter
Liam Finucane (Female), Time traveler, Doctor, Actor-turned-scholar; poses as doctor and wealthy West Indies planter, traveling with his sister, Rachel
Jane Austen (Female), Romance writer,
Henry (Male), Favorite brother of Jane Austen
Genre
Fiction
Historical
Romance
Topics
Brothers and sisters
Hidden identities
Time travel
Austen, Jane
Romance writers
Friendship
British society
Setting
London, England - Europe
Time Period
1815 -- 19th century
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Library Journal Review

Flynn's fiction debut brings readers into Jane Austen's intimate circle through the eyes of two time travelers on a seemingly impossible mission. Dr. -Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane are sent from our advanced future back to 1815 with three goals: 1) steal a copy of Austen's unfinished novel, 2) determine the cause of her death in 1817, and 3) leave no trace that will change history. They succeed-and fail. In the process, they alter not only the past but themselves, as their challenge forces them to live a lie, worming their way first into brother Henry's life, then into the life of the reclusive author herself. Liam poses as a wealthy doctor, while Rachel is forced to hide her modern assertiveness under the guise of a dependent spinster. Falling both into her part and in love with the Austen family, Rachel is captivated by the times she has come to investigate and the man who shares her secret. Flynn skillfully delves into the later years of Austen's life in a way that is sure to please admirers of the 19th-century novelist, as well as providing a fascinating dollop of plot invention and a heartbreaking romance between the two protagonists. -VERDICT Highly recommended for fans of Jane Austen, Regency comedies of manners, and lovers of time-travel fiction.-Marlene Harris, Reading Reality, LLC, Duluth, GA © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Publishers Weekly Review

In Flynn's debut, a time-travel romance, scholars in the near future find a letter indicating that Jane Austen finished and then destroyed her partial novel The Watsons, instead of never having finished it. Dr. Rachel Katzman and her colleague, Liam Finucane, are sent to live in the year 1815, hoping to get into the Austens' social circle and use that access to obtain a complete copy of the manuscript. However, Rachel's flirtation with Austen's brother, Henry, proves too effective, especially when she begins to fall in love with Liam. Though the novel is well-researched, rich in period detail, and convincing in its literary analysis, Flynn spends more energy on the conventional romance plot than on the side effects and consequences of time travel, to the book's detriment. (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
<p>Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.</p> <p>London, 1815: Two travelers--Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane--arrive in a field in rural England, disheveled and weighed down with hidden money. Turned away at a nearby inn, they are forced to travel by coach all night to London. They are not what they seem, but rather colleagues who have come back in time from a technologically advanced future, posing as wealthy West Indies planters--a doctor and his spinster sister. While Rachel and Liam aren't the first team from the future to "go back," their mission is by far the most audacious: meet, befriend, and steal from Jane Austen herself.</p> <p>Carefully selected and rigorously trained by The Royal Institute for Special Topics in Physics, disaster-relief doctor Rachel and actor-turned-scholar Liam have little in common besides the extraordinary circumstances they find themselves in. Circumstances that call for Rachel to stifle her independent nature and let Liam take the lead as they infiltrate Austen's circle via her favorite brother, Henry.</p> <p>But diagnosing Jane's fatal illness and obtaining an unpublished novel hinted at in her letters pose enough of a challenge without the continuous convolutions of living a lie. While her friendship with Jane deepens and her relationship with Liam grows complicated, Rachel fights to reconcile the woman she is with the proper lady nineteenth-century society expects her to be. As their portal to the future prepares to close, Rachel and Liam struggle with their directive to leave history intact and exactly as they found it...however heartbreaking that may prove.</p> <p> </p> <p> </p>
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1