Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The Earth is weeping : the epic story of the Indian wars for the American West
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
Find It
Map It
Fiction/Biography Profile
American West
Indian wars
Native Americans
Military battles
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Library Journal Review

Renowned Civil War historian and author Cozzens (Shenandoah 1862: Stonewall Jackson's Valley Campaign) provides a marvelous work sure to enlighten scholars and novices alike. Here he takes the listener on a journey of post-Civil War civilian and military aggression as it moves westward in America. Well-known names such as Custer, Sherman, Grant, Crazy Horse, Geronimo, and Sitting Bull are all covered in great detail. Cozzens strives to remain neutral and nonjudgmental as he lays out the actions of both Indian and non-Indian peoples. Some listeners may be surprised to learn that signed treaties by the government were continually disregarded. Narrator John Pruden effortlessly pulls the listener along on the voyage with perfect pronunciation of names of the various tribes, chiefs, generals, and locations. VERDICT Fans of the author's previous works, the American Civil War, the American West of the mid- to late 1800s, and plight of the Indians as they struggled to survive against military forces will be fully engaged. ["Highly recommended for the intertwined history of Native Americans and the post-Civil War frontier U.S. Army": LJ 8/16 review of the Knopf hc.]-Jason L. Steagall, Gateway Technical Coll. Lib., Elkhorn, WI © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Publishers Weekly Review

In this sweeping narrative, Cozzens (Shenandoah 1862), an expert on 19th-century warfare, confronts Dee Brown's classic text, Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee. Cozzens finds it too reductive in its treatment of the various Native American tribes involved in the bloody contests over land that raged from the 1860s until 1890. He persuasively argues that those who allied with the U.S. government and took up arms against other tribes can't be dismissed as simply greedy, and he zeroes in on issues that motivated each tribe to choose sides. After opening on the plains of Wyoming with Red Cloud's War of the 1860s, the first half of the book builds to the crescendo of Custer's "last stand" at the Little Bighorn in 1876. Cozzens tucks into this section an insightful chapter on how Native Americans and the U.S. Army both trained men to fight. The second half ranges from the betrayal of the Nez Perce in the Northwest to the bitter conflicts in Apacheria in the Southwest, concluding with the 1890 slaughter at Wounded Knee. Cozzens excels in describing battles and the people who orchestrated and participated in them, expertly weaving in the relevant politics and never shying away from the role racism played in this destructive warfare. Maps & illus. (Nov.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
With the end of the Civil War, the nation recommenced its expansion onto traditional Indian tribal lands, setting off a wide-ranging conflict that would last more than three decades. In an exploration of the wars and negotiations that destroyed tribal ways of life even as they made possible the emergence of the modern United States, Peter Cozzens gives us both sides in comprehensive and singularly intimate detail. He illuminates the encroachment experienced by the tribes and the tribal conflicts over whether to fight or make peace, and explores the squalid lives of soldiers posted to the frontier and the ethical quandaries faced by generals who often sympathized with their native enemies. As the action moves from Kansas and Nebraska to the Southwestern desert to the Dakotas and the Pacific Northwest, we encounter a pageant of fascinating characters including Custer, Sherman, Grant, and a host of other military and political figures, as well as great native leaders such as Crazy Horse, Sitting Bull, Geronimo, and Red Cloud. For the first time The Earth Is Weeping brings them all together in the fullest account to date of how the West was won--and lost.
Table of Contents
List of Mapsp. xi
Chronologyp. xix
Prologue: Our Children Sometimes Behave Badlyp. 3
Part 1
Chapter 1The Plains Aflamep. 13
Chapter 2Red Cloud's Warp. 32
Chapter 3Warrior and Soldierp. 47
Chapter 4Hancock's Warp. 64
Chapter 5The Last Treatyp. 76
Chapter 6Of Garryowen in Gloryp. 93
Chapter 7The Bloody Policy of Peacep. 112
Part 2
Chapter 8Tragedy in the Lava Bedsp. 137
Chapter 9The Buffalo Warp. 155
Chapter 10No Rest, No Peacep. 174
Chapter 11Sitting Bull and Crazy Horsep. 191
Chapter 12The Thieves' Roadp. 208
Chapter 13Guard Us Against All Misfortunep. 221
Chapter 14Last Standp. 249
Chapter 15The Great Father's Furyp. 270
Chapter 16A Warrior I Have Beenp. 299
Part 3
Chapter 17I Will Fight No More Foreverp. 315
Chapter 18The Utes Must Go!p. 341
Chapter 19Return to Apacheriap. 358
Chapter 20Like So Many Vultures, Greedy for Bloodp. 380
Chapter 21Once I Moved Like the Windp. 400
Part 4
Chapter 22A Clash of Visionsp. 419
Chapter 23The Place of the Big Killingsp. 442
Acknowledgmentsp. 469
Notesp. 471
Bibliographyp. 503
Indexp. 525
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1