Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The other Einstein : a novel
2016
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
Find It
Map It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Mitza Maric (Female), College student, Studying physics in college; tries to focus on school and not marriage
Albert Einstein (Male), College student, Goes to school with Mitza; takes an interest in Mitza
Genre
Fiction
Literary
Historical
Topics
College students
Love
Einstein, Albert
Scientists
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Library Journal Review

Albert Einstein's first wife, Mileva "Mitza" Maric, was a Serbian physics student and an intellectual equal to the great scientist, but she has been lost in the pages of history and in Einstein's rise to fame. In her first book, Benedict combines careful research with imagination. Was Maric a collaborator and coauthor to her husband's famous papers on relativity? Was her rightful place in science usurped by her husband and by a culture that had little belief and room for women in the sciences? She demonstrates a passion to learn but she lets her love of Einstein determine her life's path. Benedict poses a provocative question to listeners: What if Maric had been given the same attention as her hero, Marie Curie? Although the novel starts a bit slowly, Benedict paints a portrait of a complex and sympathetic woman, captured vibrantly by narrator Mozhan Marno. VERDICT Highly recommended for fiction audiences. ["Expect steady demand in public libraries": LJ 8/16 review of the Sourcebooks Landmark hc.]-Joyce Kessel, Villa -Maria Coll., Buffalo © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Publishers Weekly Review

Albert Einstein may not have been the only mastermind behind his groundbreaking ideas about relativity; it turns out the renowned theoretical physicist collaborated a great deal with his first wife, Mileva Maric'-a Serbian woman of modest means who was one of the few women to study math and science at the Zurich Polytechnic School where the two meet. In her compelling novel, Benedict shows how Mileva transforms from a sheltered girl into a personally and professionally fulfilled young woman as she meets other educated women like her in the Swiss boarding house near her school and, through her new acquaintance Albert Einstein, engages in theoretical discussions with male colleagues during which her intelligence is both admired and supported. But Albert and Mileva are a product of their times; the turn of the century wasn't exactly a liberating time for women, and the self-centered Albert has no compunctions about deleting her name from papers they assiduously work on together. Their tenuous personal life (including a child he ignores), his affairs, and his insistence that his wife be more possession than spouse causes the marriage to implode. Did giving Mileva his Nobel Prize earnings assuage his guilt for her unacknowledged assistance and confirm her contribution to his work? Benedict makes a strong case that the brilliant woman behind him was integral to his success, and creates a rich historical portrait in the process. Agent: Laura Dail, Laura Dail Literary Agency. (Oct.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
<p>One of PopSugar's "25 Books You're Going to Curl Up with this Fall."</p> <p>"The Other Einsteintakes you into Mileva's heart, mind, and study as she tries to forge a place for herself in a scientific world dominated by men."-Bustle</p> <p>In the tradition of The Paris WifeandMrs. Poe, The Other Einsteinoffers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight.</p> <p>Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studyingphysics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage.</p>
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1