Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Nine women, one dress
2016
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
Find It
Map It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Natalie (Female), Saleswoman,
Felicia (Female), Secretary,
Andie (Female), Private investigator,
Genre
Fiction
Romance
Topics
Women
Women's lives
Clothing and dress
Magic
Search for happiness
Time Period
-- 21st century
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Library Journal Review

Morris Siegel, the soon-to-be-retired lead pattern maker for Max Hammer, has declared his latest design the dress of the season. Not only will this little black dress send Morris into retirement at the top of his game, it will also affect the lives of nine women (and a few men) who are the focus of this delightful work. Using the dress as a connecting point, Rosen (The Thread) captures the ordinary and extraordinary lives of characters including Macy's store employees, first-time runway models, and a grieving widower in the crosshairs of a gold digger. All of the subplots lead back to Morris and the occasion of his retirement speech. A full cast of narrators-Dorothy Dillingham Blue, Robert Fass, Tristan Morris, Mandy Siegfried, Hillary Huber, Cassandra Campbell, Erik Singer, Dan Woren, Michael Crouch, and Em Eldridge-provide distinct voices for the many characters. VERDICT Fans of Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants and Love, Actually, will relish this story. ["Chick lit at its best. If this book were a dress, it would fit everyone perfectly and flatter everyone's figure": LJ 5/1/16 starred review of the Doubleday hc.]-Laura Brosie, Wentzville, MO © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Publishers Weekly Review

Like the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, Rosen's witty debut novel features a transformative item of clothing, not for four girls coming of age, but for nine women living in present-day New York. Max Hammer's little black dress, as executed by 90-year-old pattern-maker Morris Siegel and singled out by Women's Wear Daily, becomes the dress of the season. Rosen adroitly ties together her stories: the author is at her most romantic with Natalie, a Bloomingdale's saleswoman, and Felicia, a middle-aged woman secretly in love with her widowed boss; she is at her most clever with Sophie, an underemployed Brown grad using selfies and hashtags to fashion the life she wants. And using multiple points of view enlivens and adds a lightheartedness to the book's romantic story lines-Natalie and Felicia tell their stories, but so do the men in their lives, Jeremy and Arthur, not to mention a host of others united by the fateful dress. This is a fun book, tightly plotted and perfectly timed for the summer season. Agent: Alexandra Machinist, ICM Partners. (July) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
A charming, hilarious, irresistible romp of a novel that brings together nine unrelated women, each touched by the same little black dress that weaves through their lives, bringing a little magic with it. <br> <br> Natalie is a Bloomingdale's salesgirl mooning over her lawyer ex-boyfriend who's engaged to someone else after just two months. Felicia has been quietly in love with her boss for seventeen years and has one night to finally make the feeling mutual. Andie is a private detective who specializes in gathering evidence on cheating husbands--a skill she unfortunately learned from her own life--and lands a case that may restore her faith in true love. For these three women, as well as half a dozen others in sparkling supporting roles--a young model fresh from rural Alabama, a diva Hollywood star making her Broadway debut, an overachieving, unemployed Brown grad who starts faking a fabulous life on social media, to name just a few--everything is about to change, thanks to the dress of the season, the perfect little black number everyone wants to get their hands on . . .
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1