Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Edition:
1st ed.
Publisher, Date:
New York, NY : HarperTeen, 2013.
Description:
323 p. ; 22 cm.
Summary:
"Sixteen-year-old America Singer is one of only six girls still competing in the Selection--but before she can fight to win Prince Maxon and the Illean crown, she must decide where her own heart truly lies"-- Provided by publisher.
Series:
Subjects:
LCCN:
2012038124
ISBN:
9780062059963 (hardcover bdg.)
0062059963 (hardcover bdg.)
9780062059963
0062059963
Other Number:
812122302
System Availability:
9
Current Holds:
0
# Local items:
9
Control Number:
995055
Call Number:
[Fic]
Course Reserves:
0
# Local items in:
8
# System items in:
8
Find It
Map It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
America Singer (Female), One of six girls who remain in the contest to be Prince Maxom's bride; torn between the prince and the man she's loved for so long; doesn't know if she wants to be a princess
Genre
Fiction
Romance
Young adult
Dystopia
Topics
Dystopias
Fairy tale romances
Love triangles
Contests
Matchmaking
Falling in love
Threats
Sabotage
Social classes
Caste system
Relationships
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Publishers Weekly Review

In this sequel to The Selection, America Singer continues her deliciously entertaining quest for the affection of Prince Maxon and the title of Princess of Illea in her country's time-honored tradition. Now whittled down to six girls, the Elite, the competition has grown even more cutthroat. Though Prince Maxon has made his feelings for America known, she wavers between wanting to be his future bride and following her ever-present feelings for her first love, Aspen, a guard from her hometown who has been assigned to protect her at the palace. Like the first book in the trilogy, this installment offers delightfully royal treatment for America, cat-fighting and tension between the remaining girls, a bit of dramatic action when rebels invade the palace, and, of course, tantalizing clandestine moments with both Maxon and Aspen. America's "whatever shall I do?" musings can get a little taxing, but all in all, Cass delivers another round of enjoyable, clean, romantic fun for readers who would love to spend just one day in America's pampered shoes. Ages 13-up. Agent: Elana Roth, Red Tree Literary. (May) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
<p>The second book in Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series, The Elite is a must-read for fans of fairy tales, The Bachelor, and dystopian YA fiction. This sequel to The Selection delivers even more glamour, intrigue, and swoon-worthy romance, and will captivate readers who loved Veronica Roth's Divergent, Ally Condie's Matched, and Lauren Oliver's Delirium.</p> <p>Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection, and to win Prince Maxon's heart. Now six girls remain, and the competition is fiercer than ever. But America Singer's heart is torn. Is it Prince Maxon--and life as the queen--that she wants? Or is it still Aspen, her first love?</p>
Librarian's View
Book
2013

Add to My List