Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Publisher, Date:
New York, NY : G. P. Putnam's Sons, c2013.
Description:
374 p. ; 22 cm.
Summary:
June and Day make their way to Las Vegas where they join the rebel Patriot group and become involved in an assassination plot against the Elector in hopes of saving the Republic.
Series:
Subjects:
Genre:
LCCN:
2012003773
ISBN:
9780399256769
0399256768
9780399256769
0399256768
Other Number:
779740220
System Availability:
13
Current Holds:
0
# Local items:
13
Control Number:
979304
Call Number:
[Fic]
Course Reserves:
0
# Local items in:
4
# System items in:
4
Find It
Map It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Characters
Jan (Female), Student, Prodigy, Born into an elite family in one of the Republic's wealthiest districts; was being trained for success in the Republic's highest military circles; her family is killed by the Republic; in love with Day; joins a group of Patriot rebels who want her to assassinate the new Elector
Day (Male), Criminal, Born into the slums; the country's most wanted criminal; injured from his battle with Republic forces; in love with June; joins a group of Patriot rebels eager to help him rescue his baby brother, but only if he assassinates the new Elector
Genre
Young adult fiction
Thriller
Adventure
Romance
Dystopia
Topics
Teenagers
Rebellion
Rebels
Political intrigue
Assassination plots
Life choices
Missing children
First loves
Setting
Las Vegas, Nevada - West (U.S.)
Nevada - Southwest (U.S.)
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Library Journal Review

After an environmental and societal collapse, what remains of the United States has been divided into three warring factions in the northwest quadrant of the country. Wounded and hungry, June and Day have escaped the Republic's grasp and boarded a freight train bound for Las Vegas to enlist the help of the Patriots once again. Patriot leader Razor strikes a deal with June and Day that guarantees them help in finding Day's younger brother as well as safe passage to the Colonies. In return, June and Day must agree to take part in an elaborate plan to assassinate the new Elector to the Republic. At the zero hour, June acquires information that sets her on a course to derail the assassination, leaving Day to handle the fallout and question her loyalty. Narrators Steven Kaplan and Mariel Stern successfully build a vivid dystopian image of postapocalyptic life. Using several tones and inflections for different characters, the narrators carry listeners on an exhilarating wave of nonstop action and suspense. Verdict This fast-paced sequel to Legend is an emotionally charged story that will captivate and delight young adult readers and adults who enjoy YA titles with crossover appeal.-JoAnn Funderburk, South Garland Branch Lib., TX (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Publishers Weekly Review

The characters are known, world-building is complete, and readers know the destination is still out of reach. It's the second book of a trilogy-how will the author handle it? Lu opts for a high simmer of intrigue in her sequel to Legend. June and Day are crucial pawns in the game of political plot and counterplot as power at the top of the Republic changes hands. Love must take a backseat: for Day, to family and friends; and for June, to the greater good that is her lodestone now that her family is dead. The pair is separated for much of the book, and talk dominates action-the world-shaping machinations are the means to bring about a more personal, subtle pivot in the story. June and Day were once divided by ignorance and circumstance; now they are held apart by principle and choice. The portrayal of their dilemma is taut and insightful, and while the story line resembles a high plateau of tension rather than a conventional arc, there are enough unfolding questions to propel the narrative to its aching ending. Ages 12-up. Agent: Kristin Nelson, Nelson Literary Agency. (Jan.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Summary
Featured on Entertainment Weekly 's MUST-LIST! The highly anticipated second book in Marie Lu's New York Times bestseller, LEGEND-perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT! June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request-June and Day must assassinate the new Elector. It's their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.  But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she's haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood-what if the Patriots are wrong?   .
Librarian's View
Book
2013

Add to My List