Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The hero of ages
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
Find It
Map It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Vin (Female), Assassin, Married, Able to burn metals internally; has grown into the most powerful Mistborn in the land; Elend's wife; when she killed the Lord Ruler, the Deepness, in the form of mist, came back; the kingdom suffers from earthquakes now
Elend Venture (Male), Emperor, Married, Escaped death and became a Mistborn; Vin's husband; determined to save the world from the mists; tricked into releasing an evil spirit
Magical powers
Good vs. evil
Husbands and wives
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Library Journal Review

The sorcerer Vin, along with the Emperor Eland Venture, has ended the tyranny of the Final Empire but not without cost, for the Deepness, in which the surrounding Mists take lethal form, has returned, bringing devastation by way of natural disasters. In addition, a destructive force known as "Ruin" haunts the land. As Venture and Vin combine their efforts to save the world, practitioners of forbidden blood magic work with Ruin to conquer and control it. Sanderson's conclusion to the epic that began with Mistborn and continued in Well of Ascension resonates with all the elements of classic heroic fantasy, along with unusual forms of magic and strong, believable characters. Chosen to complete the late Robert Jordan's mammoth "Wheel of Time" series, Sanderson proves himself a master storyteller in his own right. This richly detailed fantasy belongs in most libraries. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Publishers Weekly Review

This adventure brings the Mistborn epic fantasy trilogy (after 2007's The Well of Ascension) to a dramatic and surprising climax. Tricked into releasing the evil spirit Ruin while attempting to close the Well of Ascension, new emperor Elend Venture and his wife, the assassin Vin, are now hard-pressed to save the world from Ruin's deadly Inquisitors, the insidious lethal mists called the Deepness and the increasingly heavy falls of black ash that threaten to bury the land and starve its inhabitants. As the duo search for the last of the former emperor's cache of atium, source of the strongest Mistborn energies, they battle Ruin's forces as well as monsters and prophetic powers. Sanderson's saga of consequences offers complex characters and a compelling plot, asking hard questions about loyalty, faith and responsibility. (Oct.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
<p> From #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson, the Mistborn series is a heist story of political intrigue and magical, martial-arts action. </p> <p>Who is the Hero of Ages?</p> <p>To end the Final Empire and restore freedom, Vin killed the Lord Ruler. But as a result, the Deepness--the lethal form of the ubiquitous mists--is back, along with increasingly heavy ashfalls and ever more powerful earthquakes. Humanity appears to be doomed.</p> <p>Having escaped death at the climax of The Well of Ascension only by becoming a Mistborn himself, Emperor Elend Venture hopes to find clues left behind by the Lord Ruler that will allow him to save the world. Vin is consumed with guilt at having been tricked into releasing the mystic force known as Ruin from the Well. Ruin wants to end the world, and its near omniscience and ability to warp reality make stopping it seem impossible. She can't even discuss it with Elend lest Ruin learn their plans!</p> <p> Other Tor books by Brandon Sanderson </p> <p> The Cosmere <br> <br> The Stormlight Archive <br> The Way of Kings <br> Words of Radiance <br> Edgedancer (Novella)<br> Oathbringer (forthcoming)<br> <br> The Mistborn trilogy <br> Mistborn: The Final Empire <br> The Well of Ascension <br> The Hero of Ages <br> <br> Mistborn: The Wax and Wayne series <br> Alloy of Law <br> Shadows of Self <br> Bands of Mourning </p> <p> Collection <br> Arcanum Unbounded </p> <p> Other Cosmere novels <br> Elantris <br> Warbreaker </p> <p> The Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians series <br> Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians <br> The Scrivener's Bones <br> The Knights of Crystallia <br> The Shattered Lens <br> The Dark Talent </p> <p> The Rithmatist series <br> The Rithmatist </p> <p> Other books by Brandon Sanderson </p> <p> The Reckoners <br> Steelheart <br> Firefight <br> Calamity </p>
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1